The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 12 of 12

User Info Menu

It’s a keyboard… M-Audio Keystation 49 MK3. $120

This is possibly the best bang for the buck of any musical equipment I’ve purchased. Over 1,000 preset sounds, (I’ve just been using the presets and haven’t messed much with twiddling the knobs).

The keyboard has no sounds built in, rather you plug it into your computer, download software for the sounds. The three softwares I downloaded, that come with the keyboard; 1) Mini Grand (5 pianos), 2) Velvet (a bunch of electric pianos including Fender Rhoades, hundreds of presets), Xpand!2 (about a thousand presets, organs, pianos, basses, strings, etc. etc.).

And it fits on my desk and I just slide it towards my monitor to free up some desk space.

At best, I'm a beginner on the piano. I'll be using this mostly for chord playing for songwriting. The experience of finding chords and progressions is a bit different for me than on guitar and sends me down different paths. I'll also probably use a bunch of other sounds when recording my songs.

I recorded my Garrison Fewell Jazz Improv. for Guitar exercise with the keyboard for a backing track, piano and acoustic bass presets.

Last edited by fep; 06-21-2021 at 01:44 PM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by fep
    It’s a keyboard… M-Audio Keystation 49 MK3. $120

This is possibly the best bang for the buck of any musical equipment I’ve purchased. Over 1,000 preset sounds, (I’ve just been using the presets and haven’t messed much with twiddling the knobs).

The keyboard has no sounds built in, rather you plug it into your computer, download software for the sounds. The three softwares I downloaded, that come with the keyboard; 1) Mini Grand (5 pianos), 2) Velvet (a bunch of electric pianos including Fender Rhoades, hundreds of presets), Xpand!2 (about a thousand presets, organs, pianos, basses, strings, etc. etc.).