The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 38

User Info Menu

I have an Eastman AR603CED-15 and love the clean sounds I am getting from it. However, I cannot get a decent (IMO) sound when using overdrive or distortion. I have The Dude pedal and an HX Stomp, so lots of options to try out. I play through a GK MB112 mkii bass amp (I also play bass), but only use it with headphones.

Are the cruddy distorted tones a result of the hollow body, the pickups, the amp, a combination of factors? I’m fairly new to the world of archtops, so thanks for your patience!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Arch-tops and distortion are not a natural fit, to say the least. The fact that you are using headphones is the only thing preventing the howling feedback that will result if you try it through an amp at anything greater than a whisper level in volume and only the faintest hint of drive. I know this from experience.
    Your highly resonant Eastman is acoustically responsive, and will have its vibrating top easily pushed to feedback in the open air.
    If you are looking for greater sustain, perhaps a compressor will help; also lighter strings will sustain a little better, at the cost of tone and volume.
    I'm not sure why you want overdrive, unless you are looking for fusion-y sounds, in which case you will need a semi-hollow, at least. The problem certainly not your excellent pickups. You are running up against the laws of physics.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by citizenk74
    I'm not sure why you want overdrive, unless you are looking for fusion-y sounds, in which case you will need a semi-hollow, at least. The problem certainly not your excellent pickups. You are running up against the laws of physics.