The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 17 of 17

User Info Menu

This is a question for the Tele fans.

I am an old guitarist, just getting started with Jazz. I am aiming at jazz and fusion, and listen to ear-blistering heavy metal also. Some of the guitar chops in the heavy metal genre are unparalleled.

So anyway... I am not interested in an arch top, and the 335, while brilliant, is also a gigantic heavy beast.

Since I fractured my spine in 3 places in 2016, I am looking for a lighter guitar that plays like a dream, and sounds like jazz.

I am currently looking at two contenders. Suhr Alt T, and (don't laugh) Strandberg Salen Jazz.

The Alt T is available today, which is great for me. Salen Jazz won't be available until some time in the fall. Both are Tele derivatives, both have a single "f" hole, but the Strandberg (for all its weirdness) is quite a bit lighter.

I don't have a regular guitar consultant, and tend to avoid asking anyone with guitars for sale, as I find their answers often correspond to what they have for sale.

Sorry for the completely out of left field question, but I'm eager to hear what anyone has to say about these two semi-hollows for jazz.

Cheers.

-Drew

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by MochaFiend

I am an old guitarist, just getting started with Jazz. I am aiming at jazz and fusion, and listen to ear-blistering heavy metal also. Some of the guitar chops in the heavy metal genre are unparalleled.

So anyway... I am not interested in an arch top, and the 335, while brilliant, is also a gigantic heavy beast.

Since I fractured my spine in 3 places in 2016, I am looking for a lighter guitar that plays like a dream, and sounds like jazz.

I am currently looking at two contenders. Suhr Alt T, and (don't laugh) Strandberg Salen Jazz.