The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 18 of 18

User Info Menu

I’ve been searching for a nice blonde 50’s Gibson L5 cutaway for a while.

Came across this; 1957 Gibson L-5C – TR Crandall Guitars

A few things struck me.

- never seen a similar original pick guard on a 50’s l5

- have never seen a 24 fret l5

- it looks a lot newer than a 63/64 year old guitar.

I’m no expert on 50’s l5s, so was wondering if anyone here could shed some light on this guitar.

thanks
    joe

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

it's pretty much what the description says, a custom order 24 fret wide nut L-5 w/an usual but obviously original guard made of variegated/mottled 'head cheese' plastic like what came on pre '64 Super 400's but in an unusual shape.

User Info Menu

Wow, that thing is beautiful. 24 frets...hmmm...wonder why?

Bet the "Ink Spots intro" sounds great on it, though.

User Info Menu

I agree with Mr B, man that thing is beautiful.
    This particular dealer is a well known, reputable dealer particularly in the vintage market.
    Its not out of the question that there was a refinish in that guitars past. And as Wintermoon stated, the neck looks a little wide, particularly near the headstock.
    If you were looking for a beautiful piece, that would fetch a pretty penny now and in the future, that seems like the guitar for you.
    It really is beautiful.
    They have a nice L7 too..
    JD

User Info Menu

The guy that did the side dots obviously had a martini lunch.

User Info Menu

Great looking guitar but I sure don't need the nosebleed frets.

User Info Menu

How could anyone play those nose bleed frets? They'd need fingers as long as ET's!

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by deacon Mark
    Great looking guitar but I sure don't need the nosebleed frets.
    awwww come on Deacon. All those frets do is push the useable ones closer to player.