The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 56

User Info Menu

Hi -

First post here...

I'm looking for an 8 string archtop / Jazzbox / Gibson 175 clone to convert to a 6 string. I am 6'6" with giant hands and long fingers to match.

I have such a beast in Strat. It's great!

Eastman makes a 7 string archtop, and it's in the running. But I've yet to find an 8 string. The Eastman will produce am E to E @ the bridge of 60.5 mm (roughly 2 3/8"). This might be fine. My giant Strat is a whopping 72 mm (2 3/4 @ the bridge). I'd need an 8 string "donor guitar" for that.

A 2.125" (2 1/8") nut is desired; the Eastman has that. So an 8 > 7 string for "donor guitar" is for fanning.

I can go to a luthier and pay 5K+ and wait a year. I'm new to guitar (sax since Nixon, keys since Woodstock). I'd like to avoid the luthier if possible, for both reasons.

Thanks!

- Jeff Newton p/k/a Saxophone Tall.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I'm not sure I've ever seen an 8 string archtop.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Jim Soloway
    I've yet to see one! May be the "holy grail" of guitars!

User Info Menu

IIRC Ralph Novak made some hollow 8 string guitars (Charlie Hunter model), but with his dual pickup setup, they might not convert to a 6 string very well. And then there is the issue of his fanned frets (I tried a couple of his guitars and could not bond with the fanned frets myself)

Years ago when I was trying 7 string, I bought a 7 string archtop that the seller had converted to 6 string (he was a classical guitar player and he liked the 1 7/8 nut). He had the nut and pickup and bridge saddle changed and it worked for him. I had a new nut made to convert it back and sourced an original pickup and had the bridge saddle recut to 7 strings and converted it back. His conversion had so devalued that guitar, that even with the work I put in to restore it to stock, I was in it pretty right.