The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 16 of 16

User Info Menu

I don't have the proper tool to measure fretboard radius and I am getting quite different answers with regard to this: What is the fretboard radius of the 1930s Gibson L-5, L-7, etc. Did this differ by model? Did it change over time?

I am just curious. I have heard everthing from 6" to 12".

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

It changes over time. And there is probably intra-period variance.

My 1928 L-5 has a very flat radius. Possibly more than 12".
    My 1934 L-7 (sold) had a rounder radius, probably around 12 exactly.
    My 1936 L-7 (sold) had an even rounder radius than both, almost felt like a 9.5" fender neck.

Neck profiles also change over time.

Mid 20's - large v neck
    Late 20's - Early 30's - medium D neck
    Mid 30's (pre-advanced) - large v neck
    Later 30's - medium D neck
    (I have little experience with 40's acoustic archtops from Gibson, but their 16" guitars from the 40s have very full C necks. Like a baseball bat cut down the middle.)

User Info Menu

Gibson has used a 12" fretboard radius for years.
    Some old Gibsons apparently used a 10" fretboard radius.
    Some flattop acoustics used/use? a 16" fretboard radius.
    Last edited by Hammertone; 05-14-2021 at 03:30 PM.

User Info Menu

Any Gibson guitars have like Fender neck, narrow nut and 9.5 radius?

User Info Menu

"Neck profiles also change over time.

Mid 20's - large v neck
    Late 20's - Early 30's - medium D neck
    Mid 30's (pre-advanced) - large v neck
    Later 30's - medium D neck
    (I have little experience with 40's acoustic archtops from Gibson, but their 16" guitars from the 40s have very full C necks. Like a baseball bat cut down the middle.)"

sorta kinda. depends if your using the old Bellson or modern Spann [correct] serial number/dating info