The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 26

User Info Menu

(I bought a guitar! See this post: New guitar recommendation )

Hey folks, I'm new here so be gentle.

I am a classical guitar player who has always liked to play jazz but never actually owned a "jazz" guitar. I minored in jazz guitar in college but that was 30 years ago. I just turned 50 last fall.

I am mostly an improviser, but I did play in a big band for some years (but that was over 20 years ago) so I have some rhythm experience.

My electric guitars are a 1996 Fender Stratocaster Plus, a 1994 Ernie Ball Music Man Silhouette, and a 1988 Ibanez 540S. I use them all for all kinds of playing (apart from classical and acoustic obviously).

Here is an example of my jazz playing, it is an improvisation over chord progressions I wrote:

In the example above I actually play the Ibanez which is a true shred machine. My style is an eclectic mix of whatever I fancy at the time, some sort of mix of fusion/pop/rock and even electronica.

I am looking to buy a more jazz-oriented guitar, mostly because I want to spend more time on brushing up my jazz chops. I'm not looking for a "full size" hollowbody. I would like a slim hollowbody or semi-hollow which has a standard C-style (ie, not "fat wide") neck.

I live in Oslo, Norway, and the city has been closed for 6 months. Shops are opening back up so I am considering checkout out the guitar shops, but they don't carry any of these guitars as far as I can tell:

1) Ibanez JSM10 - need to by new
    2) PRS SE HollowBody II (non-piezo) - there is a used 2019 model in a nearby town for about 25% off new price
    3) Ibanez AS93 - costs about half of the JSM10

The AS153 is also an option. The JSM10 is 40% more expensive here in Norway than the AS153, and as far as I can tell they are almost the same guitar.

I would love to hear opinions and recommendations.
    Last edited by kovacs; 05-13-2021 at 12:26 PM.