The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 29

User Info Menu

Hi Jazzists,
    I want to change the whole electric on my archtop, including Pickup.
    Pickup would be Seymour Duncan Antiquity, Seth Lover low wound or Lollar Imperial. -> What do you thin about teh differences between them?

But I've no idea or experience wich tonepotis (500kohm fur Humbuckers is all I know) and cables (Material, AWG-Specs) in good/best quality I should choose.

Any suggestions?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Hi,
    About your pickup question, i tried both Seymour Antiquity and Seth Lover in same Eastman models. T49V ( one pickup ES 175 ) for Seth Lover and T49D/V ( double pickup ES 175 ) for the Antiquity. Both were close, but i prefered the Seth Lover. Very subjective choice. Seth Lover sounded " fuller " and " rounder ".

About your pots and cable, i don't have any advice. But you can change your regular output jack with 2 contact pins with a model with 4 contact pins. All my guitars had output jack problems, but it's all done since i changed this part ( should cost around 5€ )

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Madansi
    Hi,
    About your pickup question, i tried both Seymour Antiquity and Seth Lover in same Eastman models. T49V ( one pickup ES 175 ) for Seth Lover and T49D/V ( double pickup ES 175 ) for the Antiquity. Both were close, but i prefered the Seth Lover. Very subjective choice. Seth Lover sounded " fuller " and " rounder ".

About your pots and cable, i don't have any advice. But you can change your regular output jack with 2 contact pins with a model with 4 contact pins. All my guitars had output jack problems, but it's all done since i changed this part ( should cost around 5€ )
    +10 on the Seth Lover pickups. Just plain fantastic humbuckers. Warm and round.