The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 33

User Info Menu

Hello to everyone on the forum,

I will pose this question here, even though I have this feeling that it has been answered about a million times already.
    I am studying classical guitar and through the works of Takemitsu and Dyens I have found myself to be more and more interested in jazz. I also started out by playing the piano when I was 10 but always stayed within the classical music frame, except for Nikolai Kapustin and Gershwin works which follow the vocabulary of jazz but it's sheet music and not improvisation based.

As a teen I started playing rock and was a massive fan of the Red Hot Chilli Peppers, so when we formed a band to play similar type of rock/funk style I bought myself a ESP Ron Wood telecaster and I even have recorded an album with it. This guitar is really good for that type of music, but I was wondering whether I could use it to try and learn jazz on the guitar, in the style of Joe Pass let's say (finger rather than with a pick).

It's always fun to buy more new gear and I am currently obsessing about buying an Epiphone Joe Pass II Emperor hollow-body for my jazz initiation. Do you think it's a wise choice for a beginner or should I stick to my telecaster and try my best with what I already have?

What can I do to get a nice fat jazz sound out of my tele? Should I use flatwound strings (12) and stick to the neck humbucker? What type of amp should I go for? Is a Blackstar ID V2 good enough for home practice?

Any advice highly appreciated

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

...and absolutely: yes!

Stick to your tele (if you like it) until you can afford the epiphone. After that, play both!
    There was recently a string gauge discussion here, and I for one am convinced that you can get a perfect jazz sound with 10s. It's more about feel than tone imo.