The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I'm brand new to the world of jazz and I'm trying to get an authentic jazz sound.

I'm using a Les Paul copy which I just put D'Addario chromes flatwounds on, and I also recently bought a Roland jazz chorus JC-22. The Les Paul has the Seymour Duncan Jazz/JB humbucker set in it, but I hear the SD Jazz is not really a jazz pickup! I also have some Dunlop jazz III picks.

Please let me know if you think the gear is going to be able to achieve a convincing jazz tone (should I be using a different pickup in the Les Paul?), and any tips you might be able to share about how to set it all up would be helpful.

Thanks!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

You should be fine with that set up. Experiment with your guitar's knobs, EQ settings on the amp, pickup height...this is where most of YOUR sound will come from, with your hands(touch, pick choice, pick attack, etc.) being the final word on final overall "tone".

User Info Menu

I think what you've got will work fine for starters. Your tastes in gear may change as you experiment to find sounds that you like. It's certainly true that picking technique, pickup height and setup can affect your sound as much or more than the gear itself.

I wouldn't get too hung up on having a "jazz" guitar, pickup, amp or pick. Lots of great players with great sound break all the rules and boldly go forth with gear that isn't "jazz" labeled. I urge you to work on on getting the tone you want from your touch. Tone is mostly in your hands. And experiment with the controls on your guitar and amp. Don't worry about the settings that others use. Find your sound. The truth is that most good players don't sound a whole lot different with different gear. I promise you that George Benson can take your guitar and amp and make them sound amazing.