The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 10 of 10

User Info Menu

Hi guys

Noob here

Got my first Jazzer a week or so ago and it arrived with a great set up (Eastman 403ced) and played well

As expected, after a settling in period in my home the set up could do with some tweaking.....

The strings (12's) are now clanging a bit off the fretboard. I have noticed there is no neck relief to speak of, hmmmmm

So my question today is; do the jazz guitars benefit from the same set up guidance rules/specs as the Les Pauls and Teles of the world?

2/32's treble and bass side for action and around .010 for neck relief. This standard action spec suits me OK on my regular electrics OK, will it be fine to shoot for that on the Eastman?

oh, BTW going for a try out on a set of 11s roundwound

Many thanks

John
    Last edited by Hoots; 03-02-2021 at 12:12 PM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

John and to JGO!

Sorry, but I'm a Gibson guy and consequently, don't know very much about Eastman's.

Like a lot of things, it's a matter of personal preference, so I would suggest that you try your normal setup and see how it plays. If it doesn't feel right, adjust the relief/action accordingly.

I like a straighter neck, with very low action, but for some reason, I can't seem to get the action on my WesMo L-5 as low as I can on my Les Pauls?

Good luck and

User Info Menu

ta MB

User Info Menu

To answer your question yes, if the frets are level. If you put 11s on you will have more reason to add some relief. In the end it just has so much to do with how you play. Not sure what kind of job Eastman typically does in the fret work department these days. Very few production guitars have bang on fret work so that will limit your possibilities.

Quote Originally Posted by Hoots
    Hi guys

Noob here

Got my first Jazzer a week or so ago and it arrived with a great set up (Eastman 403ced) and played well