The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 17 of 17

User Info Menu

Ok - brand new guy here one more time. One more noob question.

I've bought many guitars over the years via Ebay, and in recent years Reverb, and more recently a few from Sweetwater. All good.

So I am still learning the ropes as I search for just the right first jazz guitar, and I realize that not all the shops list their cool used inventory on Ebay or Reverb. Gruhn, for example. Elderly, and Wildwood too, I think, and no doubt many others.

So here's the question: Where should I look? Brick & mortar aside, what are your go-to places that have a website but do not list their inventory on Ebay, Reverb or Gbase? A place that does a proper setup before it ships. Not 5-figure boutique stuff - I am a jazz noob afterall. Continental USA only, preferably. Any recommendations?

Thanks!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

User Info Menu

Chicago Music Exchange which might be relevant given your handle.

archtop.com which tends to be a little higher end.

Guitars 'n' Jazz Guitars 'n Jazz - 400 Archtops in stock - choose don't settle
    Last edited by Cunamara; 02-27-2021 at 01:13 AM.

User Info Menu

If you don't want a high end guitar (probably a wise choice at this point) there are lots of choices. If you've had good experiences at Sweetwater you might just consider them. A lot of people like the Ibanezes, the Godins, the PRS SEs and the D'angelicos. Among those four manufacturers there are probably dozens of models that might be suitable. You might even try a Telecaster. There's no law that says you have to play jazz on an archtop. Look them over, Google up some reviews, ask around and pick one. There are a lot of really good mid-priced guitars. Happy hunting.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Cunamara
    Chicago Music Exchange which might be relevant given your handle.