The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 15 of 15
    Hey guys,

My only guitar at the moment is an Ibanez AF55. I do enjoy it, but I'm thinking of acquiring another guitar maybe later this year.
    Now, guitar isn't my priority as I'm an amateur play-at-home guy, so I'll likely focus on a sub 1000€ guitar. Also, I'm quite in love with pure acoustic archtops (or perhaps with a floating pickup).
    Given that, one of the options I'm considering is a Loar LH 600, but whenever I open Reverb there are a ton of old acoustic archtops around that look amazing.
    So, my question is: As an overall notion, and considering an acoustic, would you say it's better to go for a new guitar (even with the limited offer in this price range) or risk and dig into a 50 year old guitar?
    Again, this isn't for gigging, just for home playing fun.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Secondhand guitars are not without risks, especially if you can't check them out before buying. However, new ones are risky, too. Back around 2005, I had to send back two defective Gibson ES-175s before an immaculate third sample arrived. The process lasted months and months. A Korean-made Epiphone Emperor Regent from the 1990s isn't quite 50 years, but they're extremely well made, with an acoustic sound that's improved with age and probably gets even better over time. Despite recent attention to this model, it's still underpriced and likely to appreciate. With a new one, you lose value the moment it's sold to you.

User Info Menu

I try to buy as much used as possible. There is such an abundance of guitars and musical instruments in general out there that I feel it is a waste of resources to buy new. Especially when it comes to ancient designs.
    Of course, if you live in a remote area with limited options to try out instruments in person, there is a certain risk.

Cheers, Philipp