The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 22 of 22

User Info Menu

Hi all. I've been hanging around this forum for some time now, but I believe this is my first time posting a thread. This is basically cross-posted on TDPRI, but I figured the people on this forum will be more useful because I'm playing with a jazz ensemble.

Anyway, I'm in a situation where our band has more guitarists than amps. Instead of an amp, I only have access to a portable PA/ monitor wedge type thing. I've yet to explore the world of ampless rigs, but I'm searching for a clean platform that I can run direct to a PA and possibly use for headphone practice, too. I hope to find a solution that will fit in the front pocket of a gig bag to make traveling to gigs and rehearsals super easy.

I've narrowed it down to a few options (and other recommendations are welcome). The Joyo American Sound is a very low risk and presumably high reward option for me, as a beginner to ampless. No headphone option, but it's my leading contender because I'm only out $40. The next step up is the Boss GT-1 multi effects. It is digital and has all the effects I'll ever need at the press of programmable buttons. I hardly ever use effects but if it sounds good, it sounds good. It's convenient and portable, and has a headphone output.

The last option is the Two Notes CAB M+, which I picked over the Strymon Iridium. My original budget was $200, while the Two Notes is $320. The Two Notes is all inclusive (preamp, speaker sim, cab sim, mic sim, IR, reverb, EQ) and has tons of options, but also seems more permanent than the other two options (I can stick the Two Notes at the end of a pedal board once I can afford a proper Princeton or something). It has a headphone output and is simple enough to use. The issue is there isn't very much information about it online, and $320 is a pretty big plunge for me without having experienced the device in person or done extensive research.