The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 14 of 14

User Info Menu

Yes, I know there are many more modern solid state amps out there. I like my Polytone MB II and I want to fix it. I have built a number of amps from kits, so I feel like I can make the repair if I can identify the culprit. The issue is that I have little to no experience diagnosing amp problems. If anyone here has experience fixing amps and could shed some light on the problem I describe below, I'd be very grateful! I know at least a few of you have some real experience working on Polytone amps. I'm looking at you Greentone .

First off, the amp is a Mini-brute II of the diamond tolex variety from the 80's. After not using the amp for some months, I plugged into it a few days ago and here's what happened. I turned the amp on, turned amp volume up to about 4, and got no sound initially. The amp was extremely quiet, but clearly on: as, for example, the pilot light was on. I strummed a bit, but got no sound. I tried turning the amp on and off once or twice to no avail (This shows the extent of my diagnostic skills. Hey, it does seem to be a magic trick to fix computers). With the amp volume at 4, I strummed a little bit more and eventually (after a couple minutes) heard a loud, unpleasant sound that is hard to describe precisely, then the amp seemed to work just fine for the remainder of the time that I practiced.