The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 14 of 14

User Info Menu

Hi all,

So I am doing a little research in anticipation of a kit build I am planning to do. Also considering a Princeton Reverb or tweed deluxe clone, but am curious about the 6g3. Did some googling, but most of the information out there seems to revolve around this amp's cranked sound. Respectfully, not really what I am looking for and frankly not really the volumes I am likely to play at. Figured this place was a good place to ask if people have any experience with said amp within it's clean/ jazz gig volume range .

I am only really aware of the brownface amps as being "somewhere between tweed and blackface". That, on paper, sounds pretty ideal, but I suspect there is more to it than that. As a rule of thumb, I find most blackface amps to be a tad "cold" sounding for my tastes. Tweed amps I have very little actual experience with but I am generally weary of amps that are too heavy on the midrange - at times that can feel a little nasal to me. So where does the brown deluxe fall?

I may still end of going with either a Princeton Reverb or 5e3 build and tweaking either to taste with some basic mods or with an appropriate speaker, but would love to hear from anyone with experience with the 6g3 about the general character of the amp.

Thanks in advance!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Julian Lage has been talking in interviews about his telecaster setup with a tweed amp (don't remember if it was a deluxe or princeton, google is your friend) and I think I read (or fantasized) that he plays this amp here.

In any case, the particular overdrive he gets when he turns up the volume has a similar quality to what I can get from the bx_bassdude plugin, which is a simulation of a bassman. I think that one is blonde 6G6-B according to brainworks website.