The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 20 of 20

User Info Menu

I'd like to try recording my Emerald X10 unplugged to see if I can get someting close to what I hear in the room. What mics do people use for that and for that matter, how is it done?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I’m no expert, but since you said you want to record something as close to what you hear in the room, I’m thinking a pair of omni mics. Directional mics (such as cardioid) would be better if you wanted to reduce the effect of room acoustics.
    Here’s an article about recording the Goat Rodeo sessions:
    Richard King: How To Record Acoustic Ensembles
    He relied heavily on omni mics supplemented by spot mics on individual instruments. Since you are just one instrument you might not need a spot.
    I haven’t played spot mics much though, so if someone says I don’t know what I’m talking about they are probably right.

User Info Menu

From Goat Rodeo:

User Info Menu

Last thing I did with acoustic I cheated and used no mics for anything. I ran a piezo, under-bridge pickup direct to record the classical guitar:

User Info Menu

I used two different mics, one for the left and one for the right channel. Also a common trick for adding space. Add to that two Omni mics for left and right room and your only problem left is noise.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User Info Menu

Traditional method is a pair of Neumann KM184's in an X pattern aimed at about the 12th fret. I'm sure there are less expensive alternatives but not the MXL's I tried. I've been sucked in by price a couple of times and their inexpensive mic's have been pretty awful.