The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 25 of 25

User Info Menu

Archtop noob here again with a question. Suppose you have two carved archtops:

A. 17 inch, x-braced, L5 inspired, floating KA 12-pole humbucker (Heritage Eagle).
    B. 16 inch, parallel braced, 175 (?) inspired but with solid carved maple, two Seth Lover humbuckers cut into the top (Heritage 575).

Both strung with Thomastik jazz 12 flatwounds.

Suppose you want to try Thomastik bebop strings instead (or a similar roundwound). Which guitar would benefit the most and why?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by frankhond

A. 17 inch, x-braced, L5 inspired, floating KA 12-pole humbucker (Heritage Eagle).
    B. 16 inch, parallel braced, 175 (?) inspired but with solid carved maple, two Seth Lover humbuckers cut into the top (Heritage 575).

Suppose you want to try Thomastik bebop strings instead (or a similar roundwound). Which guitar would benefit the most and why?
    Try it and see

User Info Menu

It's not the guitar that benefits, it'll be a question of what you and your fellow band members want to hear. VERY generally speaking :
    - for noodling around at home it doesn't matter at all outside your personal preference
    - for small group (or solo for that matter) playing/comping flats will perform
    - in a larger group with a more dense sonic spectrum you'll get "better" results with roundwounds since they produce a somewhat brighter tone,
    especially for comping (which is what the guitarist usually + mostly does in a group with several soloists).

I don't get it when fellow 6-stringers show up at a bigband gig with their archtops strung with heavy flats, producing a dark, ploppy tone that falls right in the