The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 37

User Info Menu

Hi guys,

Just recently I picked up my Ibanez Artstar AF-200 again. I bought it in 1988, but I've been neglecting it for a few years...Shame on me.
    I find it an amazing guitar, with great playability, sound and looks.

About the looks: it is in a natural finish (NT), instead of the more common sunburst. When I bought it, I was told that there were only a few naturals, and only three shipped to Europe. I don't know if that's true, but I don't often see them on the web. Erik te Kamp posted one:

I actually have never see another one live, besides mine. Do you own one? And what's your opinion on this guitar?
    Here are some photos of my AF-200NT.
    Any who also has a Ibanez Artstar AF-200NT?-img_3159-jpgAny who also has a Ibanez Artstar AF-200NT?-img_3157-jpgAny who also has a Ibanez Artstar AF-200NT?-img_3158-jpg

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Hi....
    I have an AF200 in the sunburst. Absolutely the best jazz guitar (for me!!!) I’ve had. It keeps my L5CESN in its case. Very comfortable to play, fits in easily and even with the stock Super 58 I can get a warm tone by backing the neck pickup all the way down.
    Mine was the 2014 NAMM show guitar, bought via Rich at Ibanezrules.com. Handwritten interior label serial 0001 no less)))
    Yes it’s a thin neck. For my hands I can not understand why people favor thick necks. But I was taught to play thumb over On both the E and A strings so the thinness for me is a requirement.
    i did try a DiMarzio 36th anniversary pup in the neck but the Super 58 sounds and plays better. TI Jazz Swing flats. Walter Woods M100-8 into an EVM 12L in a Theil cabinet.
    dave

User Info Menu

I have the sunburst version as well. For a guitar that can be had for around $2000, the Ibanez (MIJ) AF200 is pretty nice! It's comfortable, sounds good and plays well.