The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 23 of 23

User Info Menu

Hi everyone!

Newbie here.

I bought a new Ibanez AS200 at the end of 2018. Since then I just (try to) play Jazz with it. Thomastik BB113 and a Fender-ish clean amp, no complaints here.

Recently I want to get more versatility out of it, so I put a set of Daddario .011 gauge (exl115) and add some overdrive to play not just Jazz, but also some blues.

The problem is that it seems that the pickups are TOO hot. Nice clean sound, fat and defined, but don't match well with anything over the edge of breakup.

Is it the caracter of the Super 58?

Is that guitar more oriented to play jazz than a 335 wich can do well all things?

Thanks in advance for your answers.
    Last edited by CharlesR; 09-11-2020 at 10:36 AM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Try lowering the pickups closer to their pickup rings. Super 58's are used on many of Ibanez's high end and artist models.
    Also, they have AlNiCo 3 magnets which should give you an over smooth and balanced output.

The only caveat is if your AS200 has Super 58 'Customs'. Those are typically used in Ibanez's lesser models and some users don't care for them. I'm not sure what their specs are.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by CharlesR
    Hi everyone!

Newbie here.

I bought a new Ibanez AS200 at the end of 2018. Since then I just (try to) play Jazz with it. Thomastik BB113 and a Fender-ish clean amp, no complaints here.

Recently I want to get more versatility out of it, so I put a set of Daddario .011 gauge (exl115) and add some overdrive to play not just Jazz, but also some blues.

The problem is that it seems that the pickups are TOO hot. Nice clean sound, fat and defined, but don't match well with anything over the edge of breakup.

Is it the caracter of the Super 58?

Is that guitar more oriented to play jazz than a 335 wich can do well all things?

Thanks in advance for your answers.