The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 14 of 14

User Info Menu

Based on some recent threads in the gear section, I think I am a minimalist when it comes to gear compared to many forum members. I own 3 guitars: a classical, a flamenco, and a beater. All are nylon string guitars with a similar feel (scale length, nut width etc), but each offers a somewhat different voice.

Overall, my musical interests are fairly niche; I’m a passionate amateur that focuses on solo guitar and doesn’t gig. However, I am thinking about getting a fourth guitar, which will be another nylon string guitar (possibly a selmer nylon string or flamenco with cutaway, but over-built for stage applications).

I have some questions for those that own many guitars (ie 10+):

1. How do you swap between very different guitars without compromising your technique? That is, how do you keep your playing ability while swapping between, for example, a les paul / tele / ES175 (all of which have different feels: scale length, nut width, shape, weight etc).

2. How do you maintain so many guitars? It must take half a day to change strings. How do you keep your guitars “opened-up” (for acoustic guitars)?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I usually focus on one guitar for a while. If I have a bunch of gigs coming up with a particular guitar I’ll just play that one a lot for instance.

My guitars all do different jobs.

Recently I’ve mostly been playing my Loar archtop because it sounds great acoustic and I’ve been doing a lot of solo stuff. My Gibson is much more of a ‘cutting through the mix’ jazz guitar... and so on.

But it’s not that big a deal. It takes me a little while to warm up on a guitar, but I like being adaptable.

The biggest jump is acoustic to electric. Muting is a big deal on the latter esp at gig volume

User Info Menu