The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 45

User Info Menu

I'm playing two archtop guitars, in addition to 10 other solid bodies, semis, and acoustics. It is more than I have ever owned and played, and I'm feeling like a potential hoarder. My only rational on the jazz end is that they were each under $5K. I'm not a professional, but can make a case about the others having their place, depending on music genre or style, but two archtop guitars...not so sure. Professional or otherwise how many of you own more than one archtop guitar?
    Last edited by tomvwash; 09-03-2020 at 09:59 PM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Most of us.

You need a back-up. What if you drop that sucker? What if it needs to go into the shop?

Plus - You may have one with a longer scale and one with a shorter scale, you may have one laminate and one carved etc.

Quote Originally Posted by GTRMan
    Most of us.

You need a back-up. What if you drop that sucker? What if it needs to go into the shop?

Plus - You may have one with a longer scale and one with a shorter scale, you may have one laminate and one carved etc.
    I like your thinking...

User Info Menu

All of my guitars are jazz guitars including my Les Paul, my Strat, my Martin Dreadnaught, my classical, and naturally, my two Gypsy guitars and my ten archtops.

User Info Menu

I don't consider myself owning jazz guitars, I consider myself owning archtops on which which I play music. I used to be an archtop collector but had to downsize when I kept evacuating from hurricanes. I couldn't take all of them with me. I held onto only what would not sell because of modifications on some guitars.

User Info Menu

Like Marco (SS), I play jazz on every one of my guitars...classical, flattop, archtop (carved and laminate), solid-bodies, baritone, etc.