The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 25 of 25

User Info Menu

I'm fairly new to guitar, and am pretty ignorant about all of the bells and whistles people use to wrangle their tone in. I'm pretty happy with the sound I'm getting for now, but am looking for a way to fatten up my high end. I'm thinking that an EQ pedal may be the answer but I'm not sure. With the quarantine, I'm not really able to go out and try some out to see what kind of effect I can get with it. Here's my set up:

Epiphone Dot - neck pickup
    D'Addario flat wound 12s
    Dunlop Jazztone pick
    Vibro Champ XD

The Vibro Champ XD only has a treble and bass knob. I just can't seem to dial in a tone that I'm super happy with. I can get the bass and mids to a place that I really like, but the high strings get either too thin (with the neck pickup tone rolled off ), or too bright (with the amp treble rolled up) for my taste. If I adjust adjust with the bass on the amp to get the high end where I want it, the low and mids get far too tubby.

In my mind that means I need some way to boost the high mids which points me in the direction of an EQ pedal. I played saxophone for years, but guitar is fairly new to me, so I'm not sure if I'm missing some other options. Maybe get some heavier gauge strings and only replace the top 3? Different pick, or picking technique even? I just thought I'd ask here before I jump into something that might not be an appropriate solution. Thanks!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Try 13/17 for the high E/B, and maybe raise the G up a hair.

"Just say No" to pedals.

User Info Menu

The best way is to post a quick vid to see how you sound. EQ pedals are super useful and personally I prefer a 13 gauge top in an otherwise set of 12s, action not too low.

User Info Menu

I dont like Fenders because of that. You dont have control over the 200hz up to 800hz region of the spectrum.