The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Posts 26 to 50 of 71

User Info Menu

Sorry guys, but I don't post things without thinking them through first. I was asking for opinions on other p/ups, thinking maybe some others have been down this road and found success with, for example, a Seth Lover p/up, which seems to be admired by many, but not that many L5 owners have piped in in several forums that I read.

Some of you are trying to help, but , apparently did not read my posts.

I am a working pro, having had, and tweaked many guitars and a lot of experience with different amps. I know a lot, just not how a Seth Lover or similar p/up will work in an L5.
    Others have suggested Lollar low winds. Classic 57's were not around in 1981.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Kent Armstrong is the best one to call for your pup swap. I don't think a Kent Armstrong Handmade costs more than a Seymour Duncan Seth Lover.

Describe to Kent what you posted here. Kent will have something for you that ticks all the right boxes, I am sure.

Guitar pickups - Handmade pickups by Kent Armstrong

User Info Menu

Jimmy Mack,

You clearly know that something is “off”. Here’s an opinion on the Seth Lover pickups from Seymour Duncan—they sound fantastic. I put them in a $650 Ibanez hollowbody and it sounds as good as my L-5 (which sounds amazing, btw). I like the Seths so much, I bought another set to upgrade another guitar. I think they would be perfect in your L-5. If you decide to replace the pickups, I’d do as Lawson-Stone suggested and make/buy a complete wiring harness to rule out any pots, caps or wiring failures. Just my two cents.

Roli

User Info Menu

Ibanez AKJV95 with Seth Lovers. Neck pickup:

Gibson L-5 with stock Classic ‘57. Neck Pickup:

Moonlight In Vermont L-5 by Rolijen | Free Listening on SoundCloud

Please excuse any clams. Was going for a quick sound comparison.

User Info Menu