The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 19 of 19

User Info Menu

I’ve been using the standard Nickel Classics by Pyramid for over ten years. I then learned they offer a hand polished version for a couple of extra bucks per set, so I had to bite. They’re almost opposite of my expectations. They’re actually a little rougher feeling. I had expected the jams polishing to be an extra step after the machine polish, but I’m guessing it’s instead of it. I’m not getting more sting noise, just a little edgier feel. The sound of these strings seems a bit brighter with more ring, but there’s a bass presence that I’m feeling in the body. I mean, the first full pluck of the low e string and i literally felt it in my gut in a new way. Maybe the hand polish removes less string material, so a little bit more mass in the windings? Last observation is the intonation sounds very true, I mean, really perfect which it almost never is. Maybe I just got lucky this morning. Anyway, here’s some free range playing to road test them this morning. They’ve been on the guitar not quite 24 hours.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

interesting....are the hand polished also round core?...max @ pyramid is a stringmaking wizard!

great playing per usual..keep it free range! hah

cheers

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by neatomic
    interesting....are the hand polished also round core?...max @ pyramid is a stringmaking wizard!

great playing per usual..keep it free range! hah

cheers
    yes, these are round wounds. Agreed, great products!

User Info Menu

Wow, the tone is noticeably different that the previous videos with Pyramid strings, but maybe the reverb is a little heavier than it had been. I really like this sound! There is more bass not only on the low E but the A as well.

Is that a Benedetto floating pickup? It doesn't look like an Armstrong (no visible polepieces).

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Mark Kleinhaut