The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 20 of 20

User Info Menu

So I have what I consider an easy to play telecaster (2018, USA, 10’s, Gatton pickups).

I’m looking for something semi-hollow I can play without always plugging it in to an amp (i have a 3rd power wooly Coates).

I’m a beginner and can get through most of Autumn Leaves.

Budget-wise i figure I can fork out a decent amount...

New or used?

Gibson ES-335 or 175, Eastman, Ibanez, or something else?

I’m in the Washington DC area.

/Peter

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Did you play big ES 335 style guitars before or?

User Info Menu

I have a Simon & Patrick boxtop that is ok as well. I have never really spent any time playing an ES335 or 175. I like low action which can be done to some extent, but i picked up a few different guitars and they were all harder to navigate - a gretsch, a star caster, one or two others...

User Info Menu

Because you wrote "telecaster is easy to play" in 1st post.
    And to me personally, the "hardest" part about ES 335 and those guitars, is surely body size by far.
    You have some okey smaller semi hollows, like ES 339, which is tiny bit larger then Les Paul.
    So that's why I asked you that.
    For me, personally ES 335 would be waaaay to big, but I would love to try ES 339.

User Info Menu

My point was - you didn't say specific what you like about Tele?
    Wider thin maple neck?
    Smaller body?

User Info Menu

Ah, sorry... the tele has low action and the neck seems to be just right for me, whatever shape it is (c? D?).
    So if there was something with better tone that i could not plug in and just get a bit of sound out of - semi hollow or hollow with that same sort of neck shape, low action i would be a happy sofa sitter...

User Info Menu

If you ask me.

Most of Les Pauls have really FAT D profile neck, narrow string spacing, and then like, super flat fingerboard.