The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 19 of 19

User Info Menu

Haven't had the opportunity to try one yet (that I know of), but there is a "Haiku 350h" listed locally....

Curious as to how a 23.5" scale compares to a 24.75 or 25.5. Does the difference in length have much impact physically? Since the tension is looser, I'll assume it darkens and mellows the sound out overall. Is it too subtle to really notice?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

You could reasonably assume that 23.5” scale will have a bit less clarity and note separation. I have no experience with guitars but I can assure you that short scale bass guitars are distinctly “less distinct”. Sometimes you may want this effect, more often maybe not. I wouldn’t want it for my one and only guitar.

User Info Menu

Anthony Wilson never had any trouble coaxing a lovely tone out of his Birdie

User Info Menu

Excuse my ignorance on short scale guitars, but the Gibson Byrdland is the only 23" scale guitar that I know of in a good quality guitar.

If you want to know what a short scale guitar feels like, try tuning your guitar down to Eb .

Doug

User Info Menu

I think 24" of Jaguar / Jazzmaster would be too small for me, and strings would be strange. But I like idea of PRS SC 245 and 24.5".

User Info Menu

The shorter the scale the more finicky to tune. Many, including myself, find hitting harmonics a bit harder with a short scale.

User Info Menu

Cramped!

User Info Menu

I personally dig 24.5 of PRS or 24.75 of Gibson.

I'm worried too much about spagetti / strange strings on 24 and lower.
    And 25.5 is too big for my hands.

So for me 24.5 or 24.75 is nice in between.

User Info Menu

This is not 23.5 but it's only 24" and I have it strung with D'Addario Chrome extra lights (10 to 48). I think a lot of it has to do with how you play it but I don't think there's any lack of clarity in this.

User Info Menu