The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 17 of 17

User Info Menu

Does anyone have any knowledge or experience with this guitar model? Looks like a sleeper among 70's Asian models, and I'm not finding very much in terms of reviews. Thank you,

Tom

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I did not know anything about this guitar but I'm also interested in information about the Yamaha AE-18 because I'm currently looking for a jazz guitar. Today I saw the Yamaha AE-18 at a local dealer in Berlin and felt immediately in love.

Never had seen or heard of this model before. Actually I was searching for a new one....

70's Yamaha AE-18 Archtop Opinions-whatsapp-image-2020-02-14-14-32-05-jpg

Best, Netti

Did you happen to play it??? No one knows anything about these apparently...

User Info Menu

Yes, but I'm an absolute beginner. I tried a lot of different jazz guitars in the last days...only playing some easy chords or the c- and g-blues scale.
    But it was a big difference to all the new ones I "played" before. The more than 45 year old Yamaha felt like "my guitar" - so easy and soft. Hard to explain.
    The sound was great with the different pick-ups, when the guy in the store played it.

User Info Menu

Don't know about the ae18. I did have a late 70s ae1200 though which I believe is the successor to the 18. Very good guitar which I wish I had not sold. Yamaha pickups imo are a little muddy, but they work. Rest of guitar was great, beautiful acoustic tone. Pretty comfortable body for a 17" too.

I'd say make sure to check the neck joint if you haven't already. Don't get fooled by the "old Japanese Guitars" thing. There are still a lot of clunkers.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by arielcee
    I'd say make sure to check the neck joint if you haven't already.
    That means where the neck "meets" the body? What kind of problems can be?

Thank you !

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by netti