The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 14 of 14

User Info Menu

Got this guitar this week as an occasion and I just noticed that there's an angle in the floating bridge. I have no experience with this type of bridge, but is this normal?

I adjusted the position of the bridge myself for intonation and it is spot on now.
    Attached Images Attached Images Is this a bad angle for a floating bridge?-img_4964-jpg 
    Last edited by Joeontheguitar; 02-16-2020 at 01:09 PM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Yes it is not sitting correct. Needs attention.

Could I have 'wacked' it myself by moving the bridge under string tension? Also, it looks like this is not really fixable. Better replace the bridge?

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Joeontheguitar
    Could I have 'wacked' it myself by moving the bridge under string tension? Also, it looks like this is not really fixable. Better replace the bridge?
    You may be able to bend it straight again. Do you have a vise?

Yes, the bridge piece is correct. It's a compensated bridge piece. I also thought of flipping the lower bridge piece. You think the string tension will bend the upper piece into the correct orientation? Or is at tilt in the opposite direction better than I have now?

User Info Menu

yes you 'could' have done this .... not saying you did

i would take it off and straighten it up ......
    then re-fit it and adjust the intonation again
    (but loosen the strings before moving the bridge around !)

User Info Menu

"I also thought of flipping the lower bridge piece."

might work

"You think the string tension will bend the upper piece into the correct orientation?"

no

"Or is at tilt in the opposite direction better than I have now?"

possibly ....
    better to bend it back to perpendicular

There's a bit of 'flex' between the lower and upper bridge parts. I can get it as far as this. I think it looks better.