The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 46

User Info Menu

I am new to this Forum and this is my first post(!)

I have been playing exclusively fingerstyle acoustic guitar since 1982. Recently, I started playing more jazz and blues (including lead lines) so I bought a new Tele and put a Charlie Christian pickup on the neck.

The Tele has 11s on it and it's got a great warm tone, but I find that the action is so low compared to what I've been accustomed to (playing with medium gauge strings on an acoustic), that it is much harder for me to play (and I chose the tele because the fat neck was the closest thing I could find to my beloved acoustic).

So my question is: should I raise the action so I have a feel similar to my acoustic, or use heavier strings, or both?

Thanks for any input you can offer.

With Flat Pick by The Colonel | Free Listening on SoundCloud

EDITED: Action TOO LOW on new Telecaster???-screen-shot-2019-12-14-9-16-10-am-jpg
    Last edited by The Colonel; 12-14-2019 at 10:53 AM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Hey Colonel -- welcome!

There's a lot of support here for teles in jazz/blues, and CC pickups are certainly cool (is it a Lollar?), so gear-wise you're good (well ... what amp do you have?!).

If you know how to do your own setups, then sure, play with the action and see what you think (or take it to your trusted tech/luthier). You may or may not need to alter anything else, including the strings, so we'll see.

Of course, if it's getting a great sound you like, I'd maybe consider doing nothing and seeing if you can get used to it! [If it ain't broke, don't fix it!]

Let us know what you find!

Marc

UPDATE: Nice job with "The Christmas Song!" Great sound/playing!
    Last edited by marcwhy; 12-14-2019 at 10:49 AM. Reason: update

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by marcwhy
    Hey Colonel -- welcome!