Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 11 of 11

User Info Menu

This is awesome, but do I really need one?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

No thanks. For several reasons. Some preference, some health. I'm not a fan of earbuds either (I use them occasionally, only when necessary, but I prefer "open-air" listening)

User Info Menu

I wouldn’t need them right now, but I could see them being useful on a tour bus or at home if you have young kids or spouse who would be woken up / annoyed by guitar sounds

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User Info Menu

Kind of neat, but not for me. After beating my ears up with many hours of listening to static while wearing headphones during ham radio contests for most of the 90s (I have had a ham radio license [my callsign is AF9J] even longer than I've been playing guitar [I've had a ham radio license since Feb. 1978, when I was 14 years old - I started playing guitar in earnest in Feb. 1979 at age 15]), which definitely contributed more to what hearing loss I've had, than all of my guitar related activities (even gigging oftentimes at high volume) over the years, I prefer to only sparingly wear headphones (mainly while using some of dinky, handheld, very low power, battery powered, portable ham radios, that lack speakers). Luckily, though I have had some hearing loss, my hearing is still within the normal range (verified by a work required annual hearing test a few months ago). I'd prefer to keep it that way - so much so, that since hearing loss is not only due to volume, but exposure time, I'm not wearing headphones while participating in a ham radio contest that is taking place this weekend (the ARRL 160 Meter [ham radio band] Contest), due to the fact that I'm putting some serious participation time into it.