The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 90

User Info Menu

I've always lusted after these old archtop guitars. Well, I'm a lucky man. My wife of f..., let's just say many years wants to surprise me with an archtop for Christmas. After a bit of searching she came to the conclusion that she had no idea what I wanted, so she told me the surprise as basically, 'find one you like'. It was the wise decision since I don't even know what I want. And the more I look, the worse it gets. Anyhow, here are my initial thoughts.

First, although I've been playing on and off for 50+ years, I still pretty much suck. But that's OK. I play fingerstyle exclusively. Haven't held a plectrum (love that word) in 40 years. I've learned and forgotten hundreds of songs but that list includes pop, rock, jazz, blues, classical, etc. My main two guitars are a '94 Breedlove C1-M and a nice little rosewood Larrivee parlor. If you are familiar with those two guitars, you are probably scratching your heads wondering what my preferred sound profile would be. I just like something that is well-balanced, not real tinny or overly boomy. I need a relatively small or thin body because of an old shoulder injury. I like fairly low action, prefer 1 3/4" nut, don't care about amplification. Basically, something that I will enjoy playing with a pleasant sound.