The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Posts 26 to 33 of 33

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Strbender
    I just sold a bunch of film camera gear using the buy it now price. The invoice I received was for 10% of the sale = $250!!!! I've also been on eBay for a long time but I haven't been selling anything the past year. So because of that, I've been lazy about reading their update emails. So I guess I can't blame anyone but me. I've decided that everything else will be going on CL instead.
    What do you think a reasonable charge would be? Irrespective of other issues with selling on eBay, 10% seems quite fair to me.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by zdub
    What do you think a reasonable charge would be? Irrespective of other issues with selling on eBay, 10% seems quite fair to me.
    I understand what your asking 100%. I've been selling on eBay for almost 20 years. This was the first time I sold something since they sold off PayPal and raised there seller fees. When I started selling it was around 6% combined between the two. I figured it would be somewhere around 7% +/- for just eBay. When there invoice arrived at 10% I was a little taken back. My bad for not getting back up to speed. Because my account is also a business account I receive a 1099 now too so I can pay taxes on my used goods. That I was aware of.

I would say it's still worth using them if selling local isn't going to get it sold.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by zdub
    Isn't Reverb something like 3%? I haven't paid attention in a while, so maybe it's gone up.

User Info Menu

Reverb has a 3.5% seller’s fee. A while ebay reduced its standard guitar category to 3.5%, presumably because of competition from Reverb. However, the vintage guitar category on eBay remains at 10%.

User Info Menu