The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 37

User Info Menu

Hi all,
    I'm fairly new to the Jazz forum and have enjoyed reading your many interesting posts. I live in the New Orleans area and love our local Jazz scene though I don't get to gig out as much as I would like.

My current primary gtr is a Collings Eastside Jazz--a 15" guitar that is 1.75" deep. Though I like my current Jazz guitar, I am looking for something with better acoustic sound. I contacted Frans yesterday and he replied this morning. I should have a quote from him within the next 3 business days.

If you would like to follow along as I order this guitar, receive updated pix, and receive the final results please feel free. Also feel free to comment on Elferinks in general and/or my requests/specifications. Note that I am not easily offended. Feel free to disagree with my thoughts/specs as you wish (happy thoughts and smiles are excepted as well).

I have provided excerpts from my original email to Frans below to help you understand my specs/request:

***********Excerpts of email to Frans Elferink*************************
    1) I am older and occasionally have minor back issues--especially after playing a long gig. Therefore, I need a guitar that is very light-weight. No more than 7 lbs. and preferably closer to 6 lbs.
    2) I am 6'1" so I can easily hold a 17" guitar while seated. I don't think I would want to go 18" though. I might even like 16.5".
    3) I will only play smaller gigs with this guitar. Therefore, feedback should be controllable. Larger gigs where the volume must be very loud I use my Collings I-35 (ES-335 copy) or a solid body guitar.

Sound