The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Posts 51 to 67 of 67

User Info Menu

Stringswinger,

Awesome. I know that you are a long-time ES-175 guy. I was, too. However, the big L-5 CES is an unbelievable jazz instrument--especially for someone who, like you and me--was knocked out by Wes a long, long time ago.

I'm glad that you were able to check this off your bucket list.

GT

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by GNAPPI
    Neither will a Harley :-) Ouch :-)

That's a seriously nice L5 in my fave color, good luck with it.
    Thanks Gary! Like Gibson guitars, Harley's can be problematic to be sure. I have been riding Hogs for about 40 years now and had to become a veritable motorcycle mechanic in order to insure that I always get home (only once did I have to have a bike towed in all those years). And the newer Hogs (built after 1986) are reliable enough that someone without any mechanical skills can ride them and predictably make it home.

Blonde's are my favorite too. I even married one

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Greentone
    Stringswinger,

Awesome. I know that you are a long-time ES-175 guy. I was, too. However, the big L-5 CES is an unbelievable jazz instrument--especially for someone who, like you and me--was knocked out by Wes a long, long time ago.

I'm glad that you were able to check this off your bucket list.

GT
    GT,

I think the 175 is the superior gigging instrument for public performances. It's laminate construction makes it a more durable road warrior and it's shorter scale makes it easier to play. And my other major guitar hero, Joe Pass played one . But for sheer beauty and tone, the L-5CES is indeed an unbelievable instrument for jazz. I am glad I got to experience being the caretaker of one of these amazing guitars. Better late than never!

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Stringswinger