The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 16 of 16

User Info Menu

Hello everyone,

I am new to this forum, it's nice to become a part of this community! My story is this. I am not a newbie guitar player, in fact, I have about 10 years of experience in other genres than jazz. But recently I really started to dig into this style and really want to get myself a jazzy guitar. My budget for this is pretty low actually, about 500€ ish (so about 550$, right?). The thing is, that I have an endorsement deal with Fender from my other musical activities and they also let me pick up a Gretsch with a -50% discount. I was looking at G5420, G5422 also the G100CE archtop. Stuff like that. But I am not sure if I like them for jazz. Maybe there are other guitars that it would be worth cheking out at this price point? What would you guys do in my situation?

Thank you in advance!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

There are no jazz guitars. There are guitars upon which one plays jazz. If. Gretsch rings your bells, feels good and sounds good to you, it will become a jazz guitar as you become a jazz player. For $500 there are a few used guitars available, but try out the Gretsch stuff available to you.

User Info Menu

I would get the G100CE. I haven’t played one but it is specifically designed for a jazzy tone.

Yeah, I know there is no such thing, but my Charvel 7 string with Air Norton pickups will not do well for me right here, haha. I forgot to say that there is no possibility for me to try any of these guitars in my country. Just wanted to ask for your input, so thank you for your answer. Can you name some used guitars that you mentioned?

User Info Menu