The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 19 of 19

User Info Menu

A few might have seen a video I did awhile back where I demo'd a $400 archtop vs. a more expensive $2,000 option. It seemed to be popular so in the interest of keeping that going, this week I shot a video I've been wanting to do ever since - a comparison between the Strymon Blue Sky and the TC Electronic HOF mini.

I speak a bit at the beginning about the benefits/drawbacks of having more knobs available and preset storage on the Blue Sky vs the super compact HOF (that you can still go real in depth with editing on the computer). I even did a playing example to demonstrate the aural difference between a mono reverb signal vs one with a stereo spread (you'll definitely need headphones to appreciate it). Later on in the video I started playing the pedals back to back with similar settings. My goal wasn't to try and make them sound identical, but to show off just how well the Hall of Fame stands up to the coveted algorithms in the Strymon Blue Sky. There are a few modes where the Strymon excels in my opinion (spring, and the fact that the HOF doesn't do shimmer verb) but in general I think most people will be happy with the Hall of Fame.

Both pedals sound great and for a few years I actually used them side by side on my board but I thought I'd post here incase it helps anyone decide if the Blue Sky is worth the extra money. Hope this is useful to someone down the line.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Thank you for posting!

I just got my Gibson GA-18 up back from the tech and I love the sound, but it has no reverb. I was hoping for a relatively inexpensive pedal that might do the trick. Sounds like I will give the HOF a go!

User Info Menu

I bet that sounds amazing. Glad I could help

User Info Menu

The TC HoF 2, don’t have the mini, works for me.

User Info Menu