The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 38

User Info Menu

After I discovered the music of our own Jonathan Stout, i became kind of obsessed with that sort of prebop Sound.
    I Do already have a really nice acoustic archtop, but i wanted something to fill that prebop electric archtop desire.

I'm only a student, so I'm always short on money, but I just got an incredibly good Deal on one of these:
    Harley Benton Custom Line Manhattan-Standard – Thomann

So, as soon as it arrives I'll start modding and experimenting.
    I'm not 100% settled on the pickup I want to use. I tend towards a floating Biltoft CC pickup.
    Any recommendations there?

I think It's an incredibly good lookin guitar, and if it Sounds half as good as it looks I guess I'll love it.

I'm just really looking forward to it and had to share the Joy!

Paul

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

I know you guys want pics, so here you go:
    Harley Benton Custom Line Manhattan-Standard-13152756_800-jpg
    Attached Images Attached Images Harley Benton Custom Line Manhattan-Standard-5e5d282a18045b82e544a77caa441e33-jpg 

User Info Menu

Looks like fun to me!

Nice & slim, too. Congratulations & keep us posted.

User Info Menu

Heck, the original pickup might get the job done.

User Info Menu

Actually it’s more the way you play than the instrument you play with that will give you a pre-bop sound.

You may swap the humbucker for a single coil PU to get a more accurate amplified sound.

Nice project you have!

User Info Menu

I love these kind of projects! In fact, I've eyeballed this particular guitar for one of my projects (but I went for the cheap Ibanez AF55).

I think for what you want, this is a great option. A CC-floater is probably the easiest and safest (construction-wise) solution. But if the bracing allows for it, installing a 'real' CC would be tempting... for me at least.

Keep us informed!

User Info Menu