The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 24 of 24

User Info Menu

What's currently the best very cheap fuzz/distortion box out there please ?
    small would be good too ....

I've got cover a Santana tune and maybe Hocus Pocus by focus
    Classic rock , that sort of thing ....

Maybe a Joyo something or other .....
    would the American Sound do that sort of stuff OK ?

thanks folks
    Pingu

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I'm expecting a pile on for this remark... But I have to tell you that as an electronics engineer I've looked at circuits, I've listened to boxes, and Behringer puts out a pretty darn good product that's very affordable.

Spend your money on Boss or other higher-end stompboxes but for the money, Behringer stuff works and in blindfold tests the discerning cork sniffers of the music stomp box world were not able to identify Behringer apart from any number of stompbox comparisons.

YouTube has scores of comparisons.

Personally, I would go for amplifier gain over a stompbox.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by pingu
    What's currently the best very cheap fuzz/distortion box out there please ?
    small would be good too ....

I've got cover a Santana tune and maybe Hocus Pocus by focus
    Classic rock , that sort of thing ....

Maybe a Joyo something or other .....
    would the American Sound do that sort of stuff OK ?

thanks folks
    Pingu
    I just picked up a Joyo American sound recently -- it'll work great for Santana stuff. For Hocus Pocus by Focus, the only thing that will work is not playing it

John

User Info Menu

When I was playing for money, back in the 70's, never used a fuzz box. Distortion was obtained by driving the amp. Why would you want to use a fuzz box on Hocus Pocus? I saw Jan Ackerman live in 73 and he did not use a distortion device.

Quote Originally Posted by geogio