The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Posts 51 to 66 of 66

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by gggomez
    Everything by my favourite jazz guitarist of all time:
    This is also that same modern sound. Kreisberg video earlier in the thread is another example.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Will Bernard.

What is your current gear setup?
    I just started playing a ’70 Gibson ES-175—which is fun, because I haven’t had a big hollowbody for a really long time. :Sep 30, 2007

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by dogletnoir
    i think i remember reading somewhere that 'Incredible Jazz Guitar' was
    actually cut with an L-4 that belonged to Kenny Burrell, but i can't remember
    the source.

The L-4 looks quite similar to the ES-175 (including the parallelogram
    fingerboard inlays), but has a carved top like the L-5.
    But then, you all knew that bit already...

I sure wish I'd have known that back in the day.......I didn't learn about L-4's 'til much later.......(( Hint - guess what my first guitar would've been, rather than a 175.. ))

User Info Menu

Based on what I've seen on this forum, people who don't jibe well with ES 175 tone often express preference for the carved spruce sound. Especially when it comes to the treble notes.

I have a Byrdland and an ES 175, I see where they are coming from. The highs on the Byrdland are smoother and more complex. When I first got my Byrdland I was very charmed with it's layered tone compared to my ES 175. After a while though, when the honeymoon was over, I realized I actually preferred the simple, dry and immediate but sweet tone of my ES 175. Both very good guitars.
    Last edited by Tal_175; 12-19-2019 at 01:42 PM.

User Info Menu

Sorry for resurrecting this thread, but here are some iconic recordings for your playlists (many were previously mentioned already, sorry):