The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 12 of 12

User Info Menu

I am in the US, considering buying a used instrument from Canada, shipped via FedEx Ground. Price w/shipping will probably be around $1300 ($US) give-or-take. I've never done this before. How much can I expect in fees, and how/when would they be billed/collected? I will probably have it sent to the local FedEx Print-and-Ship Center so I can pick it up there. Tnx all.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

If the guitar was made in the US and is coming back from Canada there's no duty but make sure the shipper fills out the correct papers.
    I've only bought 1 guitar from Canada and the shop neglected to fill out the forms. I subsequently got a bill for $400 from UPS that I fought until they gave up, the shop was no help.
    There's probably folks here w a lot more experience though.

Quote Originally Posted by wintermoon
    If the guitar was made in the US and is coming back from Canada there's no duty but make sure the shipper fills out the correct papers.
    I've only bought 1 guitar from Canada and the shop neglected to fill out the forms. I subsequently got a bill for $400 from UPS that I fought until they gave up, the shop was no help.
    Tnx. Yes it is a used instrument that was made in US. Seller is a private individual in Canada. He told me to "expect some fees," but he offered little else.

User Info Menu

I bought a Westerly, RI GBAA which was sent from Toronto by CanadaPost. It was cleared by the Chicago ISC, handed over to USPS and went on its merry way to the PAC NW.

It was the cleanest parcel I have received to date and I have received many. Looked the way it left the seller's hands as he sent me photos of it before he shipped it out.

There were no fees extracted from me. I don't know if the seller had to fill out any forms as none came with my parcel.