The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Posts 76 to 86 of 86
    i saw that. A new Marsh springfield is almost $700 less!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I have zero experience seeing, playing or hearing any of Mike Marsh’s amps. I guess I always thought of them as being akin to Mojotone and Weber. I have played and heard a number of Lou Rosano’s amps and all sound great within the vintage tone paradigm, hence the recommendation.

Good Luck

Quote Originally Posted by jzucker
    i saw that. A new Marsh springfield is almost $700 less!

Quote Originally Posted by Bbmaj7#5#9
    Hi Jack!

Earlier I mentioned Music Man amps as good substitutes but I saw you didn’t like them. For a while ago I recommended Blackstar Studio 10 6L6 on another thread. 1x12" Celestion speaker, 10 watts (unfortunately not 35 watts), reverb and effects loop. Here in Europe it costs generally between 600-700 €.
    I've owned the music man HD amps several times and never really bonded with it. I think they do things backwards, i.e. solid state preamp, tube power amp. Many modern amp designers like milkman, alembic, demeter, kingsley, fuchs and henriksen are now combining a fender based tube preamp with a SS poweramp. I think that's the way to go for hybrid.

However, for me, I'm looking for the fender sound. The blackstar doesn't really get that and 10w just isn't enough for me. Even 40w struggles with certain drummers I play with but it'll work so 35w-40w based on a real fender circuit (not "improved" like allen, morgan, fargen, carr) is the way I want to go...

User Info Menu

Jack,

The stuff from Marsh is good stuff. I have built a couple of their kits with good results. Good quality and good sound as a result.

User Info Menu

for me, reverb is such an integral part of the fender sound I need the reverb to be there. I hate being dependent on a pedal for that basic function