The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 10 of 10

User Info Menu

Take this for what it worth - a stingy analog-elitist who up until this point never really had any experience with modeling. I want to give my perspective on what my thought process was leading to my purchase.

I make the majority of my living working on cruise ships and having to deal with silly excuses for backline. In my time spent at home I enjoy gigging with one of the reissue Supro combo amps that have been out for a few years. I really come to appreciate this amp when I have to play through just about anything else as I've really become attached to how the amp responds to my playing dynamics. I run the amp clean but it being 25 watts, it usually hits that sweet spot at normal gig volume. It's the perfect amp for me.

Over the course of about a week I was able to go from a total newbie with no experience in digital amp modeling to having created a preset in my HX Stomp that really does give the Supro a run for its money. It feels good to play and is dynamic to my playing in a similar way as the Supro. I'll let you decide for yourself if you think the sound it close.

I still have some minor tweaking to do, but my clean tone is there and I couldn't be happier with it. In addition, the ability to run my delays and reverbs after the amp simulation to get the full frequency effect was a HUGE selling point for the HX Stomp for me. Additionally, the ability to use the unit as an interface to record straight to my computer is another impressive feature that'll help me stay creative during my travels.

In the coming weeks, I am planning on creating separate amp presets to work with each of my guitars. I've already started on my traditional jazz box and the process has been much faster than before.