The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 17 of 17

User Info Menu

Hi folks, newbie here.

I have a Gibson ES175 from approx 1974 and I'd like to date it from the pots, as the serial number gives me a 1973-1975 range. I bought a small endoscope camera/light to look into the guitar body, and instead of seeing pots I can see that they are enclosed in metal covers. Does anyone have experience in removing one of these or advice they could help me remove one then replace it ?

Thanks

David

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

The harness in my '81 Epi Emperor T had the canned pots as well. When I rewired it I didn't put them on the new harness.

I'm not home at the moment to confirm, but if I recall correctly, the "lid" of the can was soldered on at a couple points.

Even if you could get in at it and it's not soldered, you'd have a dickens of a time trying to get it back on, fishing thru an F hole.

When I get home I'll snap a pic or two of the Epi harness (I left it intact when I pulled it). Don't know if Gibby did the same and how helpful it will be for you, but....

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

User Info Menu

Why do you need to know the exact year? Isn't the range good enough?

I was sold a "new" Gibson ES=175D in 1973. for all these years I assumed it was on of the Harmony - Gibsons.

Last year I looked up the SN and discovered it was nearer to 1968. I was sold either a new old stock or used.

Now I know why it didn't come in a Gibson case. I was just a dumb kid then.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by David Craig
    Hi folks, newbie here.