The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 19 of 19

User Info Menu

I am a begginer for electric guitars. I have a bit of experience with the normal ones but i am very new to electric ones. Any advice or suggestions before i start?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

There is no normal guitar, and very few normal people play the guitar.

Electric guitars are a neck with one, two or three pickups. If you don't like the pickups, you can change them. Same goes for the neck. As for the bodies, they are either hollow, semi hollow, or solid - just like guitarists themselves!

User Info Menu

There have been rumors of drummers spontaneously combusting on stage but electric guitars are generally known to be safe to use.
    It's hard to give a more specific advice without more details as to what you want to know.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Rob MacKillop
    very few normal people play the guitar.

As for the bodies, they are either hollow, semi hollow, or solid - just like guitarists themselves!
    LOL! Pity that there is no adequate smilie for that!

User Info Menu

I would start going to every music store I could find and just start playing every electric guitar I could get my hands on.

There are so many different types of electric guitars out there that it would be impossible to make a recommendation.

In the end it's all up to you and what you decide you like the best - no one can ever tell you that!

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Rob MacKillop
    There is no normal guitar, and very few normal people play the guitar.

Indeed.

To the OP, I jumped back into the electric world after a 45 year journey with acoustics (a.k.a. "normal" guitars). I feel I received great advice when told to "buy a Tele". With the right strings and setup, I think you can play just about any kind of music on a Telecaster.

User Info Menu

There are also guitars with no body at all!

User Info Menu