The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 39

User Info Menu

I have no experience with them myself, but I have heard them praised a lot on this forum. Therefore, I am quite interested in checking one out for myself. However, I don't see them getting used at gigs and elsewhere. This might just be due to my naivety though. There may be a simple answer to this question that I am overlooking as well.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Too heavy.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by GregMath
    I have no experience with them myself, but I have heard them praised a lot on this forum. Therefore, I am quite interested in checking one out for myself. However, I don't see them getting used at gigs and elsewhere. This might just be due to my naivety though. There may be a simple answer to this question that I am overlooking as well.
    My first amp, purchased new in 1964, was an Ampeg Reverberocket. I love the sound. I still use it in my rehearsal room, but I don't take it on gigs. It's about 30 lbs for 18 watts, so it isn't the weight so much. It's just that it has been kind of fragile in its old age. It never required anything for the first 35 years or so.

It has a single tone control which is treble cut, so it's not that flexible. Best reverb I ever heard. Not super loud.

The Reverberockets and Geminis typically sell for under $1000, sometimes well under. I don't see the old Jets on CL as often. The NYC jazz guys I knew in the 60s liked the Jet with a JBL speaker. These are the amps with the blue diamond tolex.