The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 38

User Info Menu

Hello! I've been playing guitar since 1983, but I've never owned a semi-hollow body before. I primarily play rock guitar, but I do occasionally listen to and appreciate jazz or fusion (not that I can play it well).

I've decided to take the plunge and buy a semi-hollow guitar, and probably like most rock guitar players, the first that came to mind was the Gibson ES-335 (I also dig Larry Carlton, especially his self-titled aka Room 335 album). Price on the standard 335 models is a bit steep, and the Studio models don't appeal to me aesthetically. I'm leaning toward an Ibanez AS200. I've owned many Ibanez guitars over the year, and really appreciate the quality coming out of the FujiGen factory.

I'm getting to the question... I found another message board (Ibanez Collectors World) wherein someone stated that the AS200 was slightly smaller than the 335. Is this true? I cannot find the body measurements online. If it is true, does the size difference between the two have a significant impact on the tone? I've heard sound comparisons between the 335 and the smaller 339 sized bodies, and it was enough to steer me away from the smaller ones.

Thanks for letting me post my question!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I believe the ES335 body width is 16” whereas the Ibanez is 15.75”. All else being equal, I’m sure the slightly smaller body imparts some difference in tone. But, one ES335 to the next or one AS200 to the next will also sound slightly different, so I wouldn’t overthink it.

The ES339 is much smaller at 14.25”.
    Last edited by GregoryL; 01-24-2019 at 05:37 AM.

User Info Menu