The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
Posts 76 to 100 of 151

User Info Menu

Fender picks dont chirp. Really most regular "acetate" or "celluloid" picks don't.

I like the pro-plecs. Quietest picks I've ever used, I think.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Agreed regarding the Min'd picks. In fact, I just ordered a bunch of agate picks thinking back to those min'd picks and after 1 minute, put them away for good, lol.

He was also experimenting with Sea Shells back then. However, when I studied with Dennis Sandole (right down the block from Pat), dennis advocated the extra heavy fender picks.

Which Ibanez picks are you referring to?

Quote Originally Posted by ptchristopher3
    It is a gear forum, so I suppose unpacking the fine variations of picks fits best here.

There seems to be considerable variation in what sounds chirpy to a given player.

Some of the suggested picks here are major chirp machines in my opinion.

Maybe we hear chirps differently, or maybe there actually is a different chirp-o-sity from one player to the next while using the same pick.

Most find that Pro-pleks are extremely un-chirpy. But they also can be too rounded at the high end for some.

The Dunlop primetones sit really interestingly between the classic Fender and the Pro-Plek on the international chirp scale (ICS). So that might be just the ticket for someone.

Maybe Pat Martino just chirps less that others regardless of the pick.

Funny that in the late 70’s he was promoting the old “Min’d” picks make of stone. Those were the chirpy-est things ever.

In my view, chirp comes from striking an already vibrating string. Some players have a style of damping and playing very clean notes on non-vibrating strings. Others have a very fluid style, especially in chord-melody, where you are constantly picking already vibrating strings.