The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 31

User Info Menu

I have never had a solid state amp... Until today.

When i started playing, a great family friend gave me a vox 15" cab and a tube amp with it. Since then i´ve mostly played a 2x12 treynor, an old vibrolux 68 and i had a blues junior for a year or so. -and i´ve never really gotten along with solid state amps, just not really liked the sound.

-but Today i got my first solid state, i tried the dv jazz 12 in a music store and was very surprised how much i liked it. I Tried the henriksen and Dv, but preferred the dv and liked it so much that i bought it. I´ve been playing it today and took it to a duo practise with a singer. I´m still surprised about how well it sounds and i love carrying it around I will still keep my old vibrolux but first impression on the dv mark is promising.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Congratulations! I am so pleased to hear that you are enjoying your new amp, especially as you have not been playing through SS amps.

Ironically, I was about to start a new thread asking for updated comments on the DV Mark jazz amps

I just ordered a DV Mark Little Jazz amp two days ago and I'm getting a bit nervous. They are fairly expensive here in Canada and I have not actually tried one as no local stores have them in stock. I purchased it based on comments in threads here in this forum and on YouTube videos.

I saw a guitarist at our local jazz club who was using a Henriksen "The Bud". It was impressive (as are his playing skills) ...but more than twice the price of the DV Mark Little Jazz.

ENJOY!

Cheers

Dave

User Info Menu

I had a little jazz for a while and liked it so much, I got a jazz12 to keep it company. I've done many big band gigs with one or the other and never had a problem soloing with the brass section blowing. These are my all time favorite amps. Have fun with yours.

User Info Menu