The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 29

User Info Menu

Hey Guys,

I'm a college student and looking for an amp that won't break my back to carry around without a car.

I'm looking into a few options to play with my Eastman T185MX.

I'm stuck between getting a used Quilter 101 Mini Reverb
    101 Reverb | Quilter Performance Amplification

An old Clarus 300IA head which is about the same price as a used Quilter 101 Mini Reverb ($300)

With the Clarus I would also need to buy a reverb pedal since the old model lacks reverb.

With either of those I'd get a used Raezer's Edge Stealth 10.

Or a DV Mark Jazz 12 combo.

Also I'm now looking into Evans amps.. Why are there so many options? lol

Just wondering if anybody has played these amps and has any opinions.

I probably wont be able to try before I buy as it is with online shopping

Thanks!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I think it depends on what you want to do with the amp. Most people who ask which amp to buy don't explain theiir needs.

If you're going to play with a rhythm section, any of those amps will be powerful enough. However, if you want to sometimes use pedals or get a little edge to your sound, the Clarus probably isn't your best choice. That amp does clean and dark beautifully, period.

Either of the other amps will take pedals well and will be a little brighter. Between the Quilter and the Evans, the Evans has more midrange and probably more bottom end. The Quilter has more of a scooped midrange to my ears and may be able to do rock and funk better, but with the right pedals the Evans will be fine.

It would be nice if you could try the amps out, but I realize that's not always possible. Good luck, whatever you choose, and good luck in school.

Ah yes sorry I guess I should explain my needs better.

I like an amp that is able to do a dark tone pretty well. I really like Jim Hall's tone on his 1975 "Live!" album.